Snow Days

When we get a lot of snow, my dead end street looks treachorous. Just getting down the hill to the street can be a scary ride slipping down the driveway, or bumping down the stairs. I assume the rest of the world’s come to a snowy standstill based on observations of my immediate surroundings. I’m tempted to curl up with a good book and wait for summer. But the main drag through town is only a block away. When I finally leave the comfort of my home, I’m always amazed when I get to the avenue. The world is bustling along at its normal pace. There’s hardly any snow on the street, and life goes on.

How often are we tempted to stay in our cozy surroundings? It’s so easy to be comfortable and not take any risks. I dare you to do something bold and tell me about it.

10 responses to “Snow Days

  1. The pathways through junior high are almost as treacherous. We are outside, looking in at a situation that seems as slippery as your snowy street and our daughter is ‘bumping down the steps’! I emailed the teacher in the class period before the difficult class to ask advice or a favor today. I sent it just before I opened your email for this collective blog.

    But I can’t see from here whether or not they’ve cleared the street! I’ll get back to you while I curl up and wait.

  2. When I think of snow days, it’s difficult to escape the memories of growing up in Michigan on a small island. Huge, wet, quarter size snow flakes that resembled complex mandalas would cut us off from the rest of the islanders for days. With school out and the usual parental curfew momentarily lifted, my three sisters, two brothers and i would work together in the quiet of the snowy night, building the most amazing snow forts. We never enjoyed building them during the day as much as we enjoyed the still quiet that the snow provided at night..there’s no quiet like it. I felt safe and yes, cozy in that world. Now that I’m a parent myself, I wonder what makes my own children feel that same sense of cozy comfort. I think we assume too much about how and what they feel all the time, so tomorrow morning, I’ll ask that question of my kids. I’ll get back to you about bold.

    • Jon,
      I know that quiet. When I was living in WV, during the winter I was cut off from everything almost as much. And time had no meaning. Night, day? it was all the same. At night I would off times find myself in the yard building something ot of the snow. A centaur or a dragon… all kinds of things.
      But that quiet… I loved that, I loved just putting on my river gear (way better than anything made for the snow. I would stay completely dry and warm even if I just sat down in a slush puddle.) and just walking off into the woods with no destination but away.

      • Mark,
        “just walking off into the woods with no destination but away.” When it snows, all the sounds are muffled. You can go into the woods and just be. Away.

  3. Our children. They give us the greatest anxiety: am I doing the right thing for them? But they give us the greatest joy too! Cathy, I want to hear how things are going for Helen. And Jon, what gives your children cozy comfort? I look forward to hearing about the bold!

  4. Helen and I had a wonderful talk tonight. A real connection with laughs and truths. Maybe that was braver than asking a stranger for a favor. Showing the non-mom side and sharing some of my pain. Just a little bit. I want her to keep some cozy comforts of being the kid, not the parent.

  5. My bold thing is to participate [such as this blog]. In winter especially I have the same feeling as Annie said, to stay in and wait for warm weather. I think some of that is natural but I have to be careful not to turn into a bear. We have a rule in our family that we can’t make major life changes in February because you are operating from a state of isolation and deprivation where any change sounds good. It is good to remember that bustling street is around the corner somewhere. Sometimes it’s just a conversation [like Cathy mentioned] or a little gathering. I have to tell winter self to get out there. However, I do give myself the leisure of some bear days too. Jon’s note reminded me of being a kid in winter and staying outside all day in my snowsuit with my brother and sister. I didn’t feel the cold like I do now. It was about snow people, sledding, and making each other jump off of things. Good times. I was hoping to get some sledding in this winter….still haven’t gone since I moved here.

Leave a Reply

